Michigan is changing the way concealed-carry permits are issued in the state.
Previously, a three-member county gun board would decide whether or not to issue, deny, or revoke CCW licenses. Starting this week, the panels will be abolished and individual county clerks will assume their responsibilities, according to this story from wzzm13.com.
Michigan State Police will handle the background checks that must be performed on all applicants.
Costs are also dropping for applicants, who will now have to pay $100 instead of $105, plus the fingerprinting fee. The licenses are good for five years. The price of renewals has increased from $105 to $115, the story story says.
According to this report on wxyz.com, the new law is one of the final steps toward making Michigan a true “shall-issue” state, in which a permit must be issued to a person as long as they have taken a gun safety course, have no felony convictions, and meet other requirements.
There are currently 488,000 CCW permit holders in Michigan.
The NRA said in the wzzm13.com story that the new law will eliminate licensing delays, arbitrary denials, and requests to appear before gun boards and be asked “the basis for wishing to exercise a constitutional right.”
Also starting this week, the county clerks will be required to issue a temporary emergency concealed carry license if an applicant has obtained a personal protection order or a county sheriff determines the applicant’s safety is at risk, the story says.