Texas Community College Students Can Now Carry Concealed
While there are still some restrictions, students who have CCW licenses can defend themselves on campus after a year-long delay.
Today, a state law that allows licensed concealed carriers to be armed in community colleges across Texas goes into effect.
Texas Senate Bill 11, also known as the Campus Carry Law, allows those with concealed carry licenses to be armed while on college and university campuses.
While the law went into effect last August for four-year universities, community colleges were granted an extra year to come into compliance with the law.
Private schools can decide whether or not they allow concealed carry on their campuses and if any areas are designated “gun-free zones.”
Community colleges will also be allowed to establish “gun-free zones,” including child care centers, patient care facilities, science labs, intercollegiate athletic events, and individual assigned offices, according to this story from USA Today.
The Texas House of Representatives tentatively passed a bill Tuesday that allows concealed handguns to be carried in classrooms and on public college campuses, just minutes before the bill’s midnight deadline.
Libraries can also become temporary gun-free zones during children’s events, the story says.
According to the story, the concealed-carry rules remain in place: handguns must be worn under clothing or in a purse or other bag carried off the body. Carrying openly or allowing a concealed handgun or holster to be seen will be illegal.
In the state of Texas, residents must be 21 years of age to obtain a concealed carry permit, so the law change only effects a fraction of college students in the state.
The story says Texas has about 1.15 million concealed carry license holders. Most applicants who received a license this past fiscal year were 43 to 61 years old, the story says.
On June 13, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott signed bills allowing for open carry in belt and shoulder holsters and campus carry.